Riding out the wave!

10 11 2009

I think that the rain and the gray have been getting to me.  I am fighting off some sort of sore throat and feeling a bit frustrated about our shop.  It has been so quiet in these last few weeks.  A bit dreadful and eerie.  I know that by normal business practice.  One must say that everything is great.  That business is fantastic and amazing.  I should put on a happy face and play the part.  One of the reasons that I love having a blog is that I can share with you the joy and the struggle of having a small business.  It is like keeping my own journal.  It is also a safe space for me to let you in on my story.  I love love love designing and having my own shop.  It is a dream come true.  I am also very privileged to be doing this for the last two and a half years and so grateful for this opportunity.  I have embraced all the moments including the fun, the excitement, the frustration, and the sleepless nights.  Since things have been really tough financially for these last few months.  Actually for these last few years.  I once again asking myself “can we hold on?”  Would there be enough people here in Portland to support the shop vision and its business philosophy?  Will travelers continue to visit our shop and help us pay the rent?  Are my designs too out there for everyone?  Or am I just not a good designer at all?  Was it a good decision to have a business in Portland?  These are the questions that have been in my head constantly.

surfing_1_470x350

My parents had to bailed the shop out with rent and bills for the second month.  It is a harsh truth.  I am lucky enough to have parents that believe in me and the business.  However, this can not keep going forever.  We kept saying that hopefully our economy will improved and perhaps someday people might want to invest in beautiful pieces again.  One can only hope.  As my friend Salwa would say “try to ride out the wave.”  In the mean time I am trying to learn how to surf on these rough waters.  Wish me luck!

Actions

Information

10 responses

10 11 2009
EVANGELINA

I think that you are amazing..an amazing artist, woman, friend, business woman….you have amazing strength. I wish that I could help….if only I had a magical life jacket!! :-) …xoxo E

11 11 2009
idomdesigns

hi e, i think that you are amazing photographer and an incredible person. i wish you had a magical life jacket for me too. thank you always for your love and support. you made my night! xoxo,m

11 11 2009
Maura

I second that! Your work is absolutely amazing and wonderful, you are a true artist. I hope that things will start to pick up, you deserve to have Idom be a raging success! xo M

11 11 2009
idomdesigns

hi m, you are sooooo good to me. i am so glad you walked in that door and bought nic that beautiful blue blouse two years ago. i truly appreciated your friendship and your beautiful spirit. thank you to you and evengelina for your positive outlook. thank you and thank you. i will keep surfing the wave. come find me if i don’t come out from the ocean. :-)
hope to see you before i leave.
xoxo,
m

11 11 2009
angie

here! here! I agree! You are an amazing designer and I wish I had a life jacket to throw you too. I’m so sorry it has been such a struggle. You have worked harder than anyone I know – tackling the move, fashion shows, designing and producing your line with such determination and grace. I have my fingers crossed the holidays are wonderful to IDOM. All my love- *a

16 11 2009
idomdesigns

thank you and thank you! hope you are doing well in the land of denmark.
xoxo,
m

15 11 2009
Garnish Apparel (Erica and Kate)

More words of encouragement from your friends at Garnish! You are truly a gifted designer and inspirational person! We miss you in the NE and wish you the warmest thoughts in the upcoming month. Hope to see you soon!

16 11 2009
idomdesigns

hi erica and kate, thank you so much for your kind words. miss seeing your beautiful faces. hope you two are doing great. thank you again.
modi

16 11 2009
Caroline

Modi-

You are a beautiful person inside and out who has enriched my life and my closet with your brilliant clothes. I was in on Saturday and picked up the “Morning” dress. I was so sorry not to see your smiling face. I know my purchase is only a tiny, tiny drop in the bucket but I just want you to know how much I adore your designs. They were a huge hit in London and Paris. SO many compliments even from my very VERY uptight mother in law. I hope to find some time to stop in a say hello soon. Keeping fingers crossed that things will turn around for you. I would be so devestated to see someone with your talent and spirit go under.

All my best wishes

Caroline

16 11 2009
idomdesigns

hi caroline, i am sorry to missed you on saturday. caitlin said that you stopped by. thank you always for your support. your words mean so much to me. made my day! i am very happy to hear that the pieces were a big in london and paris. glad your mother in law liked it too! i hope that things will turn around soon. this is my dream job. it would be so sad to not to do this anymore. fingers crossed… thank you very much for your wonderful comment. looking forward to catch up with you soon.
enjoy your day.
wishing you all the best,
modi

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

