My old sketches

12 06 2009

I had kind of rough couple of days at the shop.  Dealing with people and public can be hard on the soul.  Too many non-constructive criticisms and uninvited advices.  I had to take a deep breath.  I went through my old sketch books and found some old designs.  I miss those days when I would go to the MET or MOMA and sketched all day long.  I had to tell myself to remember that this is what I wanted to do.  I want to have a design business that has fair labour practices.  Also a business that would be gentle on the environment.  Is this too idealistic of me?  I know my work are not mass market prices.  The designs are a bit non-traditional for the general audience as well.  We are in a recession after all.  It has been such a struggle financially and emotionally for the last two years.  I am finally in my dream space.  And now I am having doubts if I am doing the right thing.  Life is definitely not easy.  I can only hope that the shop will survived this global challenges.  I am usually very shy about sharing my sketches.   They are so precious and so personal to me.  When I saw these sketches they cheered me up a bit.  I thought that I would share a few with you.

3927

3926

3918

Promise that tomorrow will be a happier post.  I am hanging in there.  🙂

Actions

Information

10 responses

12 06 2009
Maura

The sketches are lovely, your personality shines through them! Thank you for sharing, things will get better soon! Your designs are beautiful and unique, it’s just a matter of getting the right people to pay attention.
xoxo

12 06 2009
idomdesigns

maura, you are so kind. thank you for your sweet words.
see you soon.
xxoo,
m

12 06 2009
nicole

Modi,
I was so happy to see your cool sketches, and sad to hear that you’re going through a rough patch. I know there’s light at the end of the tunnel– your approach, adherence to your beliefs, and limitless talent will prevail. I hope to see you (and your amazing new location) again soon.
nic

13 06 2009
idomdesigns

hi nic, you and maura are so good to me. thank you so so very much for words of encouragement. you two made my day! thank you from the bottom of my heart.
hope you are well and happy.
love,
m

13 06 2009
marc

cheer up modi. you are an inspiration to people everywhere. in two weeks we will have a fun + awesome photoshoot for your amazing new collection!
thanks for sharing your sketches.
keep up the good work.

13 06 2009
idomdesigns

hi marc, thank you and thank you! you are so sweet. i hate feeling blue. i’m hanging in there. really looking forward to our fun photo shoot. thank you again for cheering me up.
hope you and nic are doing well.
see you soon,
m

13 06 2009
angie

LOVE seeing your wonderful sketches Modi! They are lovely. I love the play with the background image scale. Thanks so much for sharing them. I agree with Marc, you are such an inspiration and such a support to us all. I hope you are feeling lots better. LOTS a love! *a

15 06 2009
idomdesigns

hi angie, thank you for always being there. you are so supportive. thank you! i am feeling better. i still can’t believe that i acquired an ulcer this last week. yikess! hopefully things will turn around soon. thank you for your words of encouragement.
lots and lots of love to you,
m

17 06 2009
Heidi

Oooh! I’m salivating over the coat. These sketches would look awesome framed in your shop.

19 06 2009
idomdesigns

thank you for liking the pieces. it was so nice to see you. thank you very much for the textile book and the for supporting little idom.
see you soon,
m

Leave a Reply

