Brilliant James Jean

26 06 2009

I find that James Jean’s work are out of this world!  I still can’t believe he did a big project with Prada for Spring 08.  If you have a chance check out Prada animation ad campaign on You Tube.  It is lovely and creepy at the same time.  Which by the way I like the creepy and the beautiful dichotomy.  Much of his work reminds me of Japanese animation I grew up watching on Saturday mornings in Bangkok.  Plus I was so fascinated with Japanese comics as a kid.  I first saw his work in New York.  I was so blown away.  Thought I would share some of the images with you.

supertron

“Supertron”

James Jean was born in 1979, Taipei, Taiwan. Lives and works in Los Angeles, CA.

toymaker

“Toy Maker”

shattered

“Shattered”

horse

“Horse”

prada-bloom1

“Bloom”  This piece is from Prada Spring 08 campaign. He also illustrated his work on their fabrics and their handbags.

pradamain

He illustrated this amazing wall papers for their store.  Prada says it “represents the somewhat perverse intersection between Hieronymus Bosch and Aubrey Beardsley. The image depicts an intense landscape of man-eating flowers, dragons, hybrid creatures and eerie fairies.”

pradaclose2

More wall paper from Prada.

sink

“Sink”

His sensibility reminds me of my friend Lance’s work.  I’ll have to try to sneak some of Mr. Lance’s paintings on here one of these days.  I mentioned him before.  He is the illustrator behind IDOM logo and decals.  Our dream is to collaborated and come up with original prints for IDOM collection.

dive

“Dive”

View more of his work on JamesJeans.com.  All images are courtesy of James Jean.

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 06 2009
angie

stunning! i love your taste in dark fantasy. *a

26 06 2009
modi

glad you enjoyed the post! hope you are getting lots and lots done.
denmark is waiting for you. 🙂
m

22 09 2009
Heidi

I love James Jean! I’m also a big fan of Ray Ceasar: http://www.raycaesar.com/gallery/2008

Leave a Reply

