Seahorses at Similan Island

28 01 2010

I love anything that has to do with the sea.  I love the smell, the wave, the salt, and its creatures.  I grew up in a place where the ocean is so warm and inviting.  There are much to explore on the beach and under the water.  My mother has always been passionate about saving the corals, the reefs, the fish, the seaweed and anything and everything that has to do with the ocean.  Surin islands National Park has been one of our family favorite spot to explore the ocean in southern Thailand.  There is no resorts or fancy places to stay on the islands.  We adore the peacefulness and its beauty on these 5 small islands.  We worried of how life under the ocean were doing after the unfortunate tsunami.  My friend Por knows me so well.  She sends me photos of her trip to reassured that sea life are doing quite well.  She was recently helping a Thai non profit ocean group at Surin islands and Similan Island.  They released more seahorses at Similan island.  The photos are gorgeous.  Thought that I would share them with you.

Surin Islands.  One of the most famous dive sites in the world.

Seahorses before their release.

Hooray to the freedom of Seahorses!

More seahorses are free.  Great thing about Similan islands national park is that you can only visit for a day.  Nobody is allowed to stay on the island.

Little fish at Surin Islands.

Much of the ocean life in Surin and Similan islands have recovered from the tsunami.  We are so happy.

Thank you to my wonderful friend Por for her beautiful pics.  You made my day!  I miss you and the ocean.

P.S.  Happy Birthday to my dear friend, Lance.  Wishing you a very exquisite year!

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 01 2010
Rich Burroughs

Love the pics 🙂 Pretty sea life.

28 01 2010
idom

thanks, rich! her pics are always so great.
hope all is well,
modi

28 01 2010
Maura

Those are gorgeous! I love the tiny seahorses. I hope I get to visit there someday, what a magical place.
xo
M

29 01 2010
idomdesigns

hi maura, i hope you can come to visit someday too. it would be fun to show you around. hope you are having a great week.
xoxo,
m

Leave a Reply

