Marina Abramovic

8 04 2010

My sister recently told me about an amazing exhibit she saw at the MoMA in New York. The exhibition is a retrospective of performance artist Marina Abramovic. Born in Serbia, Abramovic has been performing since the 1970s, and her work explores the relationship between performer and audience, the limits of the body, and the possibilities of the mind. Since I knew little about Abramovic, and intrigued by my sister’s description of the exhibit, I decided to do a little research. I’m glad I did because I found Abramovic and her work very moving.

As part of the MoMA retrospective, Abramovic will be performing every day until the end of May. The performance involves Abramovic sitting silent and motionless in the MoMA’s atrium, and visitors can share in her presence by sitting in the chair opposite her. You can view the performance live during museum hours here or watch a previous performance below:

And here’s a little more about  the artist and the process of preparing for the MoMA exhibition:

Have a wonderful day!

(posted by Salwa)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

