Weekend Inspiration

9 10 2010

Yohji Yamamoto is one of my all time favorite designer.  I remember seeing his pieces in Japan when I was quite young, perhaps when I was about 7 or 8.  It left such a big impact on my life.  In a way he has been my mentor from afar.  I remember saving my allowances for his work, for Comme des Garçons, and for Issey Miyake.  I could only afford one piece per year.  I had to saved and saved.  But they are worth my every blood, sweat and tear.  I thank my parents for really instilled the value of only buying what you love.  All the pieces that I have since I was young are still in great shape.  The amazing quality of construction and the architectural modernness of these designers’ work are timeless.  I will always cherished every pieces from the design masters.

Take a look at S/S 11 collection via Paris.  Yohji Yamamoto’s signature deconstructed Edwardiana in all black with a hint of ragamuffin:

 

Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garçons is a genius in her own right.  Brilliant work from her S/S 11 playing with the idea of multiple personalities.

This is one of my most favorite collection from the Paris show.  Loved creative director Dai Fujiwara’s work for Issey Miyake’s SS’11 collection…the textures (using the house’s signature micro pleats and fabric technology), the tailoring, draping, shapes, prints and colours.  Stunning!

All photos courtesy of Style.com.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Posted by m

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

