Weaving

24 03 2011

Thanks very much everyone for your lovely comments on the 2 posts of IDOM team of contractors and their sweet children.  It means the world to me.  My parents passed the message on to everyone back in Bangkok.  They are delighted and sent their many thanks as well.  It is so refreshing that you lovelies out there still care of where things come from and who made them.  If you care about organic food, sustainable farming practices, and what you feed your body.  Why wouldn’t you care about what you put on your backs?  I’m thrilled that there is a connection made with how much love and care IDOM clothes are produced.  I hope that clothing will gain new found appreciation in the future.  It takes massive amount of knowledge, skill, dedication and patience to create one piece of garment.  I hope that I will have the privileged of continuing to work with these amazing wonderful people for many years to come.  Thank you again for your support season after season.  Your contribution to IDOM is supporting so many lives across the globe back in Thailand.  Here is what it takes to make silk and cotton.

Silk worms

Silk cocoons

I usually make a trip up north to Chiang Mai and Ching Rai to meet with textile makers.  Sometime I would go up to north eastern part of Thailand next to Laos for more silk.  Over the years we developed a relationship with each community that loomed various fabric.  Ya Pai spins the yarn.  She has been weaving fabric since she was a child.  It is her way of recording her memories through patterns and prints.  She is amazing!

Pa Urai is my grandmother’s neighbor in the north eastern part of Thailand called Ubon.  She enjoys weaving so much.  She is giving lessons to her friends and neighbors.  Hoping that this tradition will live on to the next generation.  She is so patience and very sweet.  Her work is beyond this world.

Ya Na is such a wonderful cook in the kitchen.  She makes the best labb, papaya salad, and sticky rice.  I always look forward to our visit.  We would eat and chat.  She has so many great stories of her childhood, her view on politics, and her beloved craft.  Someday I’m hoping that I can spend more time and learn how to weave with her.

Pi Pilin is hard at work weaving Thai printed silk.  Each symbol represents an object, plant, flower or animal, and etc…  Each yard depending on how difficult the print is could take 2 to 3 days.

More beautiful hand loomed silk.

Pa Rian is an expert in cotton weaving.  All of the cotton are without any chemical in this community of weavers in Chiang Mai.  They also used leaves, barks, berries, and flowers to dye the cotton.  It is my favourite place to find the cotton to make my oversized tunics.  Once I find the solid colour cottons.  I would ask another team of artisans to hand block the textile.  It is nothing like wearing hand weaved fabric garment.  It will change your life.

I hope you enjoy a little glimpse of my process to create beautiful clothes for you.  I’m so grateful of these beautiful artisans to allowed me to take their photos and to share their stories with you.  I’m thrilled that I get to witnessed their craft and to be a part of their lives for these last four years.  Thanks for taking time to come on this journey with me.  Wishing you a fabulous Thursday.

 

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 03 2011
Kerstin

You are such a wonderful woman and beautiful soul.

Lot’s of Love from LA to you!
Kerstin

28 03 2011
idomdesigns

hi kerstin, so nice to hear from you. thank you so much for your comment. hope life is treating you well in LA. send us some sunshine please! xo

Leave a Reply

