Deyrolle

31 03 2011
My father started an insect collection for me when I was around 5 or 6.  I adore our south east Asian giant black beetles and the rainbow shiny beetles.  Of course I love anything from butterflies to scorpions.  One benefit of growing up in Thailand is that these guys are in our backyard.  When I was studying in Paris Deyrolle was one of my favourite shop to visit.  It is this amazing natural history store.  It reminded me a bit of home.
Giraffe, polar bear, leopard, porcupine, you name it!  Deyrolle started in 1831 and is known around the world.  In 2008 there was a fire damaged in large parts of the shop, but thanks to many fans.  The shop is now as beautiful as ever.  The website is worth a visit, but the store has to be seen in real life!  I need to plan a trip to go back to Paris soon.
Words from Deyrolle’s webpage:
“Deyrolle offers insects & shells collections, mounted animals of many kind, natural wonders and collection pieces. The principle was always to bring to human nature the sence of observation and description; An image is worth a thousand words. If one want to protect nature, one has to know it.”
All images courtesy of Deyrolle.  You can check out their website here.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

